Governorship Poll: Ambode Floors Agbaje

The All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship candidate in Lagos, Akinwunmi Ambode has floored Jimi Agbaje his main opponent and the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP as he won the governorship election held in Lagos, Southwest Nigeria on Saturday, 11 April, 2015.

Though, the contest was close, Ambode still won by 152,206 votes different after polling 811,994 votes to defeat Agbaje who polled 659,788 votes. With this result, Ambode will succeed Governor Babatunde Fashola on 29 May, 2015 as the APC stretches its dominance in Lagos.

Returning Officer, Lagos State Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Prof. Isaac Adewole who is the Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan declared Ambode winner of the election after meeting up with the provisions in the electoral law.

With the Igbo factor, which Agbaje so much backed on, he was able to win five Local Governments. They are Ajeromi Ifelodun, Amuwo Odofin, Oshodi/Isolo, Surulere and Ojo, while Ambode won in 15 Local Governments.



In Agege, Ambode polled 46,909 votes to beat Agbaje who got 32,885 votes, while in Ajeromi Ifelodun, Agbaje won by scoring 52,596 votes as against 42,954 by Ambode. The result from Alimosho was massive for Ambode as he polled 90,220 votes to defeat Agbaje who garnered 67,480 votes. In Amuwo Odofin, Agbaje won because of the Igbo factor when he polled 35,168 votes to beat Ambode’s 26,349 votes.

In Apapa Ambode defeated Agbaje by a slight margin. He polled 22,169 votes as against 19,486 votes garnered by Agbaje. The situation in Badagry was the same as Ambode won by polling 27,086 votes while Agbaje got 22,664 votes. In Epe, the hometown of Ambode, the APC governorship candidate won by wide margin of 31,498 votes as against 13,425 votes scored by Agbaje. The result in Eti Osa was closed but Ambode polled 28,082 votes to floor Agbaje who got 24,486 votes.

In Ibeju Lekki, Ambode won by polling 14,696 votes against 11,292 votes by Agbaje. The result in Ifako Ijaiye was massive for Ambode who polled 46,485 votes to defeat Agbaje who got a distant 26,898 votes. In Ikeja, Ambode won coast home to victory by polling 33,178 votes as against 26,419 votes by Agbaje.

In Agbaje’s Local Government, Ikorodu, Ambode won by polling 52,061 votes as against 35,259 votes scored by his contestant. Kosofe gave Ambode massive votes as he scored 53,890 votes to defeat Agbaje, who got 40,253 votes, while the results from Lagos Island also gave it to Ambode who polled 34,232 votes as against Agbaje’s 16,111 votes.

The result in Lagos Mainland was close but Ambode won by polling 31,836 votes while Agbaje scored 26,889 votes. Ambode won massively in Mushin as he scored 60,220 votes, with Agbaje trailing by a distant 38,620 votes.

Respite came for Agbaje as he won Ojo Local Government dominated by the Igbos as he scores 31,910 votes to beat Ambode who polled 34,693 votes in a very close contest. Agbaje also won Oshodi Isolo in another close contest. Agbaje scored 43,904 votes to win Ambode who got 42,835 votes.

The result in Shomolu was close but Ambode won by polling 43,642 votes as against 37,078 votes polled by Agbaje. Agbaje won Surulere, which happened to be Governor Babatunde Fashola’s Local Government. He got 54,202 votes to beat Ambode who scored 51,404 votes.

With the two contestants scoring 25 percent of vote cast in all the 20 Local Government, the simple majority system was employed to determine the winner, with Ambode winning a very close contest.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s