Missing Budget: Akpabio Didn’t Intervene, Ita Enang Refutes

Senator Ita Enang, Senior Special Assistant to President Muhammadu Buhari on National Assembly Matters, on Saturday, denied that the Senate Minority Leader, Sen. Godswill Akpabio, mediated in the missing budget scandal involving him and the Nigerian Senate, so that he will be sacked from office.

It could be recalled that Ita Enang had made copies of the documents, different from the ones made by President Muhammadu Buhari on 22 December, 2015 and presented before a joint session of the National Assembly.

The Senate investigative committee reviewed that it had, in its possession, two versions of the 2016 appropriation bill which were from the President and Ita Enang.

Sen. Ita Enang

Sen. Ita Enang

When asked if the issue, in any way, affected his relationship with the president, as it has been widely published that the Sen. Godswill Akpabio, intervened on his behalf for him to remain in office, Ita Enang denied that such never happened.

“I’m very surprised at that, but I’m sure you remember that throughout the period of the budget question, I didn’t speak because in the ethic of our job, as an appointee, you don’t speak. I’m not aware that Sen. Akpabio pleaded on my behalf.

“I represent Mr. President at the legislature. I stand in the middle and I am a diplomat. My job is to make sure that the interests of both parties are protected and defended. I refused to speak so that I won’t endure either of the fight and still keep maintaining a good relationship.

“I have a very good relationship with His Excellency, Mr. President. I was appointed by Mr. President and I’m doing the job of Mr. President. I’ve been working and I’m working with all the senators and members of the National Assembly.

“I represent the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and I’m not going to join any issue with any person because this is the ethic of my job. I’m not aware of anybody mediating on the issue.

“But by standard and everything, I refuse to speak because I maintain dignified and sometimes silence speaks lauder. I was appointed by Mr. President and I do not see what could have been a need for that intervention or anyhow.”

Comments

